Are we really ALIVE or just living !!

You shouldn’t make decisions based on what makes you feel safe. Make your decisions on what makes you feel alive. Life might be too short for regrets – but life is far too long to live with a compromise.

I read this line in a book called ‘What A Girl Wants’ by Lindsey Kelly. and it has managed to stay in my head ever since then.

IMG_20141031_100852

How many times do we take a decision based on what makes us feel safe, feel secure or feel protected. I say, 9/10 times. which is wayyyyy to big of a safety net. We hardly venture out of our safety net and explore the other infinite possibilities. we are scared that what if something bad happens if we take the unexplored route, what if we get hurt, what if we don’t gain something out of it, what if we don’t find anything, what if we don’t grow ? ……..what if? our mind always thinks about this ‘what if ‘ and takes the other route, the safer route. But is that really the way to live !?

We have been blessed to live a life as a human with so many capabilities so why waste it by living within the world of what we know. why not venture out towards new possibilities and opportunities. why not take risks and actually do what we love doing. something that makes us feel ALIVE.

If I had made a decision based on safety and chose to stay at home in Delhi, continuing to be in my safety net which was a career in advertising, my life wold have been really different. I’m sure I would have been earning comfortably and living a luxurious life but I would have been questioning myself everyday- ‘what if I had at least tried?’ Rather I chose to move to Mumbai and peruse a career as an actress. which made me feel so alive that i can’t even explain it. I felt like I own the world and I can rule. And I feel the same today.

worst case scenario – we’ll fall down flat on our face, so what? At least we’ll have the satisfaction that we tried. we’ll learn something out of it and we’ll grow. That’s how you move ahead in life. That’s how you become an experienced human and live your life without regrets.

At least I don’t want to live my life in a compromise, I wan’t to feel alive my whole life. That’s why I’ve taken a decision that this year I will venture out on a solo trip. something that i have been wanting to do for quite some time but have felt a little scared in taking the step. And this is my official announcement from which I cannot step back!

will definitely write about it when that happens. 😉

6 thoughts on “Are we really ALIVE or just living !!

  1. Wonderful!!! U got that bang on-make your decisions based on what makes you feel alive! Be ready to take chances in life, believe in yourself.
    Am so very proud of you…love every word you write….& wait for your blog daily

    Like

  2. Wonderful!!! U got that bang on-make your decisions based on what makes you feel alive! Be ready to take chances in life, believe in yourself.
    Am so very proud of you…love every word you write….& wait for your blog daily

    Like

Leave a Reply

